About Ashtanga Yoga

What is Ashtanga Yoga?

Ashtanga (also spelled Astanga) means "eight limbs" in Sanskrit, yoga means eight limbs of Yoga Sutras of Patanjali referred to e. Ashtanga method of asana practice was interpreted by T. Krishnamacharya and Sri K. Pattabhi Jois from an ancient text Yoga Korunta, which describes a unique system of hatha yoga developed by Vamana Rishi.

Pattabhi Jois (1915-2009) has launched an investigation Krishnamacharaya in Mysore, India at the age of 12 years and 'became a leading physician and Ashtanga yoga teacher, who is set to cause a series of Vinyasa flow style.

In 1958, Pattabhi Jois published his treatise on Ashtanga Yoga, Yoga Mala. There are six different Ashtanga series through which the student progresses at their own pace.

The Ashtanga method emphasizes the daily practice of Vinyasa flow using Ujjayi breathing, Mula Bandha, Uddiyana Bandha and Drishti.

About the series of Ashtanga Poses

The first series called Yoga Chikitsa, or primary, is described in Yoga Mala. Yoga Chikitsa, which means yoga therapy, realigns the spine, detoxifies the body and increases strength, flexibility and endurance. The series of 75 postures takes 1:30 to 2:00 to complete, from sun salutations (Surya Namaskara Surya Namaskara A and B) and move on to standing poses, seated poses, investment and backbends before relaxation.

The intermediate or second series is called Nadi shodan, which means purification of the nervous system. It purifies and strengthens the nervous system and subtle energy channels throughout the body. This series is only introduced when the first set is strong. It follows the same progression (sun salutations, standing, sitting, etc.) as the main series, but introduces new routes and variants.

The four sets of points called Sthira Bhaga, which means divine stability. Pattabhi Jois originally presented two series of intensive art, but later, divided into four sets to make them accessible to as many people. These series emphasize difficult arm balances and are only suitable for very advanced students.

Ashtanga classes: self-Led Led

Many yoga studios offer led Ashtanga classes, which means a teacher leads the class and ask students in the order of items, usually in the series primary or secondary. A studio called Ashtanga Shala, and are generally closed twice a month for the days of the moon. Once students know the sequence of the trip very well, they can often choose self-directed or practice a style of Mysore. This is an opportunity for students to practice at their own pace and level of ability, but with other students and with the encouragement and guidance of a teacher as needed. Ashtanga is also an ideal base for practitioners of the house, once they know the sequence of movements.

Is Ashtanga for You?

Ashtanga yoga is very popular. It is a vigorous, athletic style of practice. It is for those who like a sense of order and likes to do things independently.

See also :About Bikram Yoga